Diagram comparing a professional discount, for tape a practice uses, with a reseller account, for tape sold to customers

Professional Discount or Reseller Account? What the Difference Means for Tape Buyers

Disclosure first: I co-founded Easy Kinesiology, and we sell kinesiology tape, so every brand on this page is a competitor of ours. We also publish neither a professional discount nor reseller terms today, and this page says so plainly further down. Every competitor sentence below is quoted from that brand's own public page, fetched on October 20, 2026, with the link.

A professional discount is a lower price on tape you use in your own practice. A reseller account is permission, plus a price, to buy tape and sell it on to your own customers. They are different agreements, and tape brands often use the same words for both. We read seven public program pages side by side, and not one of them contains the words "resale," "resell" or "reseller."

That matters most to two kinds of Texas buyer. One is the clinic that tapes patients in the room and would like to sell boxes at the front desk. The other is the pharmacy, running store or medical-supply shop that wants tape on a shelf. Both will find plenty of "pro pricing" offers. Neither will find, on any page we read, the terms that decide whether reselling under that account is allowed.

What is a professional discount?

A professional discount is a price cut for credentialed people and organizations who apply tape as part of their work. The brand checks who you are, then lowers the price on what you buy. The pages we read describe it in exactly those terms.

SpiderTech's page offers "Save 30% on all products" to registered medical professionals, says "we'll verify your eligibility within 1-2 business days," and answers the question of non-licensed applicants with "No, our medical professional program is strictly for licensed professionals only" [3]. Hampton Adams says its ProPartner program "is not a general consumer discount program" and "is intended for qualifying professional and organizational use" [5]. RockTape's program "is open to nearly all medical & movement professionals who help humans and animals move better, and with less discomfort*" [4].

Notice the frame in each one: professionals who use tape. None of the three pages says the discounted tape may, or may not, be resold.

What is a reseller or wholesale account?

A reseller account is a business account set up for buying stock you will sell. A buyer would expect it to say what may be sold, where, at what price floor if any, and what happens to stock that does not move. Those are the terms that protect a store's margin.

The pages we read use the word "wholesale," and one of them talks about margin. THYSOL's wholesale page says "The more you buy, the more you save and the more margin you will earn" [6], and it gates pricing behind a quote, asking "Does your current order value exceed $1.500?" before it prices anything [6]. Kinesio sells through distributors, saying it "has partnered with the top Medical Distributors in a partnership that allows Kinesio Tex Tape and related products to get to medical professionals throughout the country" [7].

Even so, neither page lists what a reseller may do with the tape. "Wholesale" on these pages describes a price level. It does not describe a resale agreement.

The words overlap, even on a single page

KT Tape shows how blurred the vocabulary is. Its professional pricing page says "KT now offers professional pricing through our distribution partners below for medical & movement professionals" [1], and the divisions it lists run from "Physical Therapy Assistant" to "Pharmacies," "Medical Retailers" and "Running Stores" [1]. Its page for sports stores carries the heading "get wholesale pricing on kt products for your business" and, a few lines down, "KT now offers professional pricing for independent stores in the run, bike, golf, racquet sports, and outdoor industries" [2].

So the same brand calls a store's account both "wholesale pricing" and "professional pricing." That is not a criticism of KT; the routing to distribution partners is clear. It is the reason a buyer cannot tell from the name of a program which kind of agreement it is.

Seven programs side by side

Here is what each page says, quoted where possible, as fetched on October 20, 2026. A blank means the page we read does not say.

Program (page fetched) Who it is for, in their words How access works Published price basis Minimum Resale terms on the page
KT Tape professional pricing [1] "medical & movement professionals"; divisions include pharmacies, medical retailers, running stores Through "distribution partners," by credential Not on the page Not on the page None found
KT Tape sports stores [2] "independent stores in the run, bike, golf, racquet sports, and outdoor industries" Through distribution partners Not on the page Not on the page None found
SpiderTech Pro [3] "strictly for licensed professionals only"; clinics via the sales team Registration, eligibility check "within 1-2 business days" "Save 30% on all products" Not on the page None found
RockTape pro pricing [4] "nearly all medical & movement professionals"; a link for hospitals and pharmacies By professional category Not on the page Not on the page None found
Hampton Adams ProPartners [5] "qualifying professional and organizational use" Application, review "within 1 business day" Not on the page "no opening-order minimum" None found
THYSOL wholesale [6] Practices, clinics and resorts with "high volume needs" Quote request Shown in the buyer's wholesale account, not publicly Quote screened at "$1.500" order value None found
Kinesio distributors [7] "medical professionals throughout the country" Through medical distributors Not on the page Not on the page None found

The last column is the finding. We searched the text of all seven pages for "resale," "resell," "reseller," "territory," "marketplace," "Amazon" and "minimum advertised," and found zero matches. Some of these brands may well have reseller agreements; we are not saying they don't. We are saying the terms are not public, so a buyer has to ask for them.

Five questions to get in writing before you buy for resale

Five questions to get in writing before buying tape for resale: account type, what may be resold, where, price floor, unsold stock

Whichever brand you are talking to, us included, ask these five, and ask for the answers in an email or a contract, not on a call.

  1. Which account is this? Is it a discount on tape for use in my practice, or an account that allows me to resell? If both, are they priced differently?
  2. What may I resell? Unopened retail boxes only, or also loose strips and rolls? Does the brand require its retail packaging on anything sold?
  3. Where may I sell it? In my clinic or store only, or also online, and on marketplaces?
  4. Is there a price floor? Does the brand set a minimum advertised or selling price, and what happens if I go below it?
  5. What happens to unsold stock? Returns, exchanges, dated lots, and who pays freight both ways. How opening orders, case packs and reorder points fit together is on our opening orders and case packs page.

Sales tax on stock you buy for resale is a separate question from any of the above. It is a state matter, not a brand matter, so take it to your CPA before your first resale order.

Where Easy Tape stands today

Plainly: we publish no professional discount, no wholesale price list, no minimum order and no reseller terms. If you asked us the five questions above today, we would not yet have written answers to all of them, and we would rather say that here than on a call.

What we can state is the product and the consumer price. Easy Tape comes as 15 pre-cut strips per box, one strip per knee application, at a consumer list price of $19.99 [8]. The per-application math, and how it compares with rolls and other pre-cuts, is on our clinic cost-per-application page. The honest case for a roll over a pre-cut is on our pre-cut versus roll comparison.

For volume or resale inquiries, use our contact page and tell us which of the two accounts you are asking about. If you want to try a box first, the consumer page carries the 100-Day Money-Back Guarantee on that purchase.

Quick answers

What is the difference between professional pricing and a wholesale account? Professional pricing is a discount for credentialed people who use tape in their work, such as SpiderTech's "Save 30% on all products" for licensed professionals [3]. A wholesale or reseller account is for buying stock to sell. Tape brands use the two terms loosely, so check which one you are being offered.

Can a clinic resell tape bought with a professional discount? The program pages we read do not say. None of the seven contains the words resale, resell or reseller. Ask the brand in writing before you put discounted tape on a shelf.

Do kinesiology tape brands have minimum orders for professionals? Some say no: Hampton Adams states "There is no opening-order minimum required to apply for or begin using your ProPartner account" [5]. THYSOL screens quotes by order value [6]. Most pages we read did not state a minimum.

How long does professional approval take? SpiderTech says "within 1-2 business days" [3]; Hampton Adams says "within 1 business day" [5]. Others did not state a time.

Does Easy Tape have a reseller program? Not a published one. There is no price list, minimum or reseller agreement on our site. Volume and resale inquiries go through the contact page.

Medical disclaimer: This article compares publicly posted purchasing terms for general information. It is not legal, tax or financial advice, and it does not describe any treatment or outcome. Program terms quoted here are as published on the brands' own pages on October 20, 2026 and can change; confirm them with each brand. Kinesiology tape supports comfort and mobility; it does not diagnose, treat or cure any condition.

References

  1. KT Tape. Professional Pricing (page as published October 20, 2026). https://www.kttape.com/pages/kt-tape-professional-pricing
  2. KT Tape. Sports & Outdoor Stores (page as published October 20, 2026). https://www.kttape.com/pages/sports-outdoor
  3. SpiderTech. Medical Professional Registration (page as published October 20, 2026). https://www.spidertech.com/pages/pro-registration
  4. RockTape. Professionals (page as published October 20, 2026). https://rocktape.com/pages/professionals
  5. Hampton Adams. ProPartners (page as published October 20, 2026). https://hamptonadams.com/pages/propartners
  6. THYSOL USA. Wholesale (page as published October 20, 2026). https://www.thysol.us/about-thysol/wholesale/
  7. Kinesio. Find a U.S. Distributor (page as published October 20, 2026). https://kinesiotape.com/find-a-u-s-distributor/
  8. Easy Kinesiology. Easy Kinesiology Tape, 15 Pre-Cut Strips (consumer listing and price as published October 20, 2026). https://easykinesiology.com/pages/kinesiology-tape
Back to blog